Linked Header

Wednesday, May 30, 2012

Province Proposes 12 Regional Service Commissions

The Province introducing the Regional Services Delivery Act that would see the creation of 12 regional service commissions by next January.

Under the proposed legislation, it would see the creation of a  commission for each region governed by a board of directors that includes the mayor of every municipality and rural community along with representatives from the local service districts.

It would also allow for and encourage communities to collaborate on additional voluntary services.

Region 8 would include Sussex, Norton and Kars.

Region 9 is made up of 14 communities including Grand Bay-Westfield, Kingston, Quispamsis, Rothesay, Saint John and St. Martin's.

Hampton is in Region 9 but is requesting to be in Region 8.

For more information, click here